Beer Review – De Garde Brewing – Peach Bu (2015 Edition)

IMAG0708_1

De Garde is no secret to readers of my blog as I’ve already reviewed them and talked about them at length, so I won’t waste your time doing that today. If you want to learn more about them and some other beers from them check out my review on Cherry Raz Bu. Don’t worry though, I’m giving you the low down on this beauty, Peach Bu, right now.

Peach Bu is a Berliner Weisse made with, you guessed it, Peaches! This fruit forward sour is an excellent example of a sessionable tart beer that is heavy on the fruit and flavor and light on the alcohol…AKA, a great beer for just enjoying beer, and not trying to catch a buzz.
IMAG0711

Appearance: Just like Cherry Raz Bu, Peach Bu has an amazing color. If you can imagine a white peach and then press it into juice, you would get the same color. There is something about De Garde’s beers just make you want to drink them as soon as you see them, and Peach Bu is no different.

Aroma: A giant sniff from my Bruery tulip gives me notes of tart, funk and peach and the peach comes out more as the beer warms slightly. This smells like it’s going to be a pucker up sour!

Taste: BOOM! All kinds of sour are up in this glass! After the funk and sour start to fade, you’re left with a slight peach note that lingers on while you’re waiting for your next sip.

Mouthfeel: Like any great beer, Peach Bu coats the tongue and leaves you wanting more. Most Berliner Weisse beers tend to be on the light side but this beer packs a serious punch!

Overall: De Garde may be a new-ish brewery but they clearly know what they are doing. Peach Bu is a crisp, clean, refreshing beer that could be one of the best Berliner Weisse beers I’ve ever had. I just wish I could get more of it, easier.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 – Poppin Bottles Yo!

b45

Have you had Peach Bu before? If so, give us your ranking below and leave a comment!

Leave a comment